Abuse allegations against TB Joshua; – The Price of Mentorship or Nemesis?

    We at watch TB Joshua believe that the first to present his case will always seem right until  another comes and questions him. It is patience in asking the right questions that will force either probity or deception to reveal itself where present. But whether true or false, what we stoutly represent is a refusal to accept a one sided story like other partisan sites and whatever stance you may have taken on this controversial prophet, either as a supporter or critic, it still remains unequivocally clear that most of the stories circulating the internet that are mitigating against this prophet at most came from those who were once his ardent front-line followers, aside from raising a red-flag by giving quite some weight to their testimonies, and being a bothersome thorn in the flesh of pro-Scoan folks, it also further demystifies the personality of TB Joshua In the context of him still having an increasing local and international follower-ship even with just about enough defaming material to quickly set people on their heels away from him. A quick search on Google will reveal various testimonies by these ex-disciples of TB Joshua’s ministry, putting forward quite vehemently, debasing claims of sexual abuse and ill- treatment allegedly suffered at his hands, and this was well complemented with further questions in animosity of the legitimacy of the very miracles that seemed to have prompted them to follow TB Joshua in the first place. We at watchtbjoshua  would never have contested the “truthfulness” of these allegations if the word “betrayal” never existed, that is, the possibility of all these claims of abuse being falsified and untrue just as some others hold that it is true, is what qualifies it as a debatable issue, for at least those who have never lived within the Scoan premises.

It is however quite surprising that we hardly ever hear stories like this about other ministers or pastors, and the reason most likely, as our findings report is his peculiar style of training followers as disciples, different from the modern conventional methods. Quite a number of ministries have a former school for disciples who desire to be trained for ministerial work, with a process for enrollment, tuition for training, a well defined course outline in discipleship training and finally a certificate issued proving that they met the required standards during their training, but TB Joshua’s methods seem very far from this in a peculiar sort of way, apart from having his imposing edifice at the SCOAN, Lagos Nigeria receiving and playing host to thousands of pilgrims from across the world, it also houses men and women from different countries, of different ages and works of Life who have left their countries, homes, Jobs and others to follow this man as disciples, with him bearing the full responsibility for their upkeep. The prophet Himself is said to live in the same compound with his disciples and in an interview with Evelyn Joshua, TB Joshua’s wife – they are there for an indefinite period of time, in her words she said “its a lifelong training” now we know that the implications of this would be at first unprecedented, but now the results are definitely crystallizing out clearly – with all the defaming allegations circumventing the internet as well as the advent of the “wise men” who seem to be the evidence of those who have being fully trained.

Having lived with the prophet for years, a lot of these disciples would definitely know more about the inner workings of the ministry, so without asking questions and getting a different account from other ex-disciples, the populace would have no choice but to believe them, without getting to hear the other side of the story  – So the purpose of this post is to bring into debate the allegations made against TB Joshua by certain ex-disciples, of which several similar ones exist, carefully considering their possibility of occurrence whilst subjecting them to sound reasoning and if possible come to a logical conclusion.

The first we shall consider with an excerpt from an anti-scoan website  is “The story of Emma“,  A Scoan ex-disciple who had supposedly dedicated ten years of her Life to Scoan,  her claim of  abuse and ill treatment is stated below.

I’m very grateful to have found this site. I personally have been affected by TB Joshua and the SCOAN in a most negative way. I’m eternally grateful to Jesus for giving me a second chance when I was so deeply deceived. Since leaving SCOAN I have discovered a completely different side to God – an intimate relationship with Him with no human mediator, and total forgiveness without your past mistakes being used to break you down.
I plan on sharing my 10 year experience of being a disciple in increments as I have the strength to do so. I prefer to do it anonymously for my own safety and that of my family. I left about a year ago and am still coming to grips with the reality that SCOAN was a cult. It was a big shock when I realised that what I’d given my life to and built my future upon is nothing but a cult. I was horrified to find that the isolated communal lifestyle, denial of privacy, late night meetings, sleep deprivation, reporting, character breaking disciple meetings and so on, occur in most cults and have nothing to do with the Holy Spirit’s leading of TB Joshua as I once believed. I read about cults like Mormonism, Jehovah’s witness, Scientology, The twelve tribes, Indian guru cults, etc and saw striking similarities. They also record your confession and use it to silence you should you later leave like what happened to Bisola Johnson in Beware of Blasphemers. They also encourage that you sell your possessions and give it to their leaders, live in community and give all decision making authority to the leader. They also have meetings of character assassination, ie, monitoring, reporting and correction as SCOAN calls it. They also live in “compounds”, communal living where access to information is controlled, the leader’s videos / teachings are continually played to you and a false reality “euphoria” is created with no opportunity to question.
The hardest thing for me to come to terms with is the fact that I may never see my loved ones (brothers and sisters as they’re called in SCOAN) again. I sometimes feel guilty as I “move on with my life”, that I’m leaving so many sincere, but sincerely deceived people behind and it seems as if there is not much I can do to open their eyes. Since I had completely cut off from my family and friends – it now seems very strange to reconnect with them after 10 long years. So many things have changed but in some ways, I am exactly where I started before I joined SCOAN – I have no qualifications, no job reference, no proof of what I’ve done with my life. I’m only beginning to see the effects of many years of sexual and emotional abuse I received from TB Joshua. But I am determined more than ever to trust in God alone, deal with my past in His strength and become what He made me to be.

For the anti-scoan folks who subscribe to her story, what are your strong reasons for believing what you never witnessed about  a Prophet of renown?

And for the pro -Scoan folks why would you refuse to believe her story?, what in your opinion could she possibly gain by lying?

Love to hear your thoughts in the comments…!

17 thoughts on “Abuse allegations against TB Joshua; – The Price of Mentorship or Nemesis?”

  1. its very despicable when i read allegations like Emma’s, i must say we are really in the last days and this is one of its characteristic features. Jesus did warn believers that they would be persecuted in the same way he was, i guess if these people even had half the chance they would have done worse to tb Joshua than they ever did to Jesus. but with faith and patience i know the man of God would overcome. i just pray he gives no attention to these followers of his that drifted by the way side.

  2. After going through this post.i have some questions troubling my mind.
    What did she say made her leave Scoan?
    Was she sent away or she left of purpose? Like Bisola and agomoh?
    Was she engaged in the production of CDs and DvDs to blaspheme against Tb Joshua?
    her story seems a lot incomplete with so many missing details.

  3. she does seem to have something to hide, still i can hardly relate to the fairy tale she’s just told, we’re not talking about just a year or two but a whole decade, how could she possibly spend ten years in a place only to cry out now? Mmmmm? and of what, being deceived for a decade? where was she all the while? a deception that could last a decade could have as as well lasted a life time.

  4. 1.Someone who had been a disciple for a whole decade, hmm.
    2.never saw anything wrong in the activities of the Church.
    ignoring what made her leave, i believe she deviated from her faith life and allowed herself to be used.
    Going by her confession she made it clear she had nothing doing IE. she came back to square one.and when we step out of faith, Satan takes opportunity to attack.
    One of his strategy was to make her believe she had been in a cult. which she never overcame.
    Of the many years i know Tb Joshua. if she had gone back and asked for forgiveness.She would have been forgiven and integrated.even if she doesn’t have the intention of remaining a disciple.
    But all that came to her mind was to speak against her ten years of stay in scoan.and never mentioned any positive changes in her life.
    That s a bit weird.

  5. I chanced upon this site while searching for a platform with a balanced view on the TB Joshua and Scoan, while simultaneously running my opera blog on my ordeal with TB Joshua watch.

    http://my.opera.com/cancunpearl/blog/2011/10/03/my-victimization-by-tb-joshua-watch

    I can actually recall Doi being a Scoan supporter like I was on TB Joshua watch where the excerpt of Emma’s story is sourced, at least his gravatar is the same, should be him, I’m wondering why he must have left TB Joshua watch himself, but what’s now with the reversed title? Is this blog another version of TB Joshua watch? Have they now realized how they victimized me because I was pro-scoan and now decided to come out neutral, but with a different blog tittle? Someone please answer!

    1. soe,
      Following the link you provided in your comment , we’re indeed sorry for how you’re treated by TB Joshua watch, but we’re in no way affiliated or connected with them, we’ve noticed they’re anti-scoan and appear to be just as zealous to criticize TB Joshua as his disciples are to defend him, far from from being the balanced view they said to present, but you were quite reputed for defending TB Joshua on that site, perhaps you could also shed some light here on what you think of the above post.

  6. Sometimes in life we come across such people, people who will repay good with evil, I myself have come across them and I know it will be no different with TB Joshua being a man of people, anybody who asks what Emma stands to gain by lying against TBJ should also ask what Judas Iscariot stood to gain in betraying his master, and tell me just how much thirty pieces of silver was that his master that fed five thousand couldn’t provide?

    The bible teaches that there are those who return will evil for good, and hatred for love,

    “So they reward me evil for good, and hatred for my love”. – Psalms 109:5

    There are also those who will rise up maliciously with all manner of lies against a man of God:

    “Malicious witnesses rise up; they ask me of things that I do not know”. – Psalms 35:11

    “For wicked and deceitful mouths are opened against me, speaking against me with lying tongues. – Psalms 109:2

    In return for my love they accuse me, but I give myself to prayer. – Psalms 109:4

    Throughout her ten years stay in SCOAN who was responsible for her upkeep? TB Joshua was!, But at the end of the day she lifted her heels against whom she shared his bread, ending up betraying her benefactor…just as is written;

    “Even my close friend in whom I trusted, who ate my bread, has lifted his heel against me.” – Psalms 41:9

    it will take a similar mindset to hers to believe her story.

  7. Hi. Soe.
    Thats this world for you. People aren’t always greatful.all they pay attention to is what you didn’t do for them.not mentioning the little or much you did for them.
    Well concerning my leaving Tb joshua watch.
    I’m not encouraged when am not allowed to openly poor out my opinion about a particular post.
    I believe this site seems more responsible.
    Thank God you also discovered it. I sure hope many will.

  8. What an array of biblical texts just to prove human betrayal a reality in the world, but I don’t think we really need so much of biblical texts to relate to this, i’ve also come across sich sick folks that bite the fingers that fed them and I can for certain say that they are of a depraved mind, perhaps its better not to help people at all if it will result in things like this

  9. JESUS CHRIST IS LOOKING FOR FULL-TIME FOLLOWERS NOT A PART-TIME ONES,
    HOWEVER I BELIEVE THIS IS STILL A SPIRITUAL WAR THAT IS NOT YET OVER, BUT REMEMBER GOD IS A POWERFUL AND FAITHFUL TO HIS FAITHFUL ONES. HE IS THE REWARDER OF THOSE WHO DEILIGENTLY SEEK HIM,IN BOTH GOOD AND HARD TIMES ALIKE. HE IS LOOKING FOR GENUINE SEEKERS WHO ACKNOWLEDGE THE PRESENCE OF GOD AROUND THEM WHETHER THE SUN SHINES OR THE RAIN POURS, THEY RECOGNISE THAT JESUS CHRIST IS LORD OF THEM ALL. I THANK GOD FOR THE LIFE OF PROPHET T. B JOSHUA . THERE IS NO AMOUNT OF PROPAGANDER AGAINST THE MAN OF GOD THAT CAN MOVE MY FAITH FROM GOD. HOWEVER I STILL PRAY FOR GOD TO FORGIVE YOU LOTS AND THE PROPHET WILL NOT HOLD IT AGAINST YOU, FOR GOD WILL FIGHT FOR HIMSELF.

  10. it is suprising for a woman to stay the whole ten years being abuse and keep quiet or maybe she is the one who tried to abuse the Man of God spiritually for this period but failed to succeed any way God Almighty knows everything and He is a Judge to all.

  11. we are not suprise this is pure Judas Spirit of betrayal, if it happened to Jesus it will happened to us as the bible said no servant is above the master .If they pesercuted Jesus what more of his followers .Man of God I know you and your God,you strengthen many and my God will strengthen you in Jesus Name and give you more wise man and woman.
    God said to Abraham “I will bless those who bless you and curse those who curse ” anyone who try to curse man of God is like cursing himself.

  12. I don’t think she is real. This is a fake story she was hired to make. Judas Escariot in a different outfit. Surely what the Prophet is doing is always done in the light where the entire world watches, leaving no room for the likes of Emma, who manufactures false stories for personal gains. As God’s children, let us forgive her. I am sure, the Prophet has already forgiven her, in Jesus’ name, Amen!

  13. Such opposition is expected from chancers like Emma. She may have had a problem initially and saw it fit to visit Scoan for spiritual help which indeed came. As time went by, the same old demons crept up and temptations got the better of herself. She probably failed to maintain her deliverance. I have the experience myself being a former visitor of the Scoan. After my deliverance, the same demons that had made me seek the help of the Prophet T.B Joshua, crept up, tempting me and being the person that i am and having known the bad life that i had enjoyed and had drove me to spiritual attacks i never gave up and still refuse to be tempted and taken aback thanks to the the Wisemen and prophet T.B Joshua’s prayers and teachings. But our sister Emma, seems to have failed dismally when it came to fighting temptation. Her allegation that she has now moved on and improved in her life, seems to be a lie. Someone who is spiritually matured, does not have time to attack other human-beings, that is lacking forgiveness, if ever you were aggrieved by anyone at Scoan. i would suggest that sister Emma, spends more time seeking God’s help as opposed to being critical to honest people and especially the prophet T.B Joshua whom i believe is today’s generation’s one and only messiah. May God bless you and improve your life and forgive you for the lies that you are spreading about the man of God, prophet T.B Joshua. We wish you the best in life!.

  14. T.B Joshua is a very true man of God. The pharisees and scribes are religious leaders but,they are the ones attacking Jesus-Matthew12:14,Mark3:6 and Luke6:6-11.Then finally they succeeded through His disciple judas iscariot ,but its in line with the fulfilment of prophecies Matthew 26:20-25,27:3,4. If these people fought and killed Jesus,then it can happen to Prophet T.B Joshua.All that is taking in place SCOAN,its GOD plans and wish. I wish to be called for an interview to say more about T.B Joshua as a man of God for this generation-These are my contacts: Pastor Damfa Adams 08130192757,08028247826

  15. The happening in the SCOAN its Biblical,those that always said alot against SCOAN are cursing themselves. Don’t follow what people are saying.When I was attending Deeper Life Bible Church in the late 80’s people said we are occultic and we suck human blood. But when I backslided in 1997,thesame set of useless persons are mocking at Me and My Parents that Am a drunkard. Glory be to God I was restored through a prophetic ministry like SCOAN. If SCOAN is occultic,then Deeper Life Bible Church is also occultic. If Am chance to appear in any media station,Am ready to tell the whole world that Prophet T.B Joshua is a true man of God even its mean taking My life.

What do you think? Please keep your comments relevant, civil and concise

